MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

  

Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 20 May 2014, 17:45

MIke and djsamrties

I posted version 12A, but if that version doesnot work for the FX-Assign section, please try version 13A.

Djsamrties
Like to know how it goes with using the sampler banks for the problem you described before.

Also thoughts on the browser section and S+LOAD

Currently the Browser section is working as follows:

On the left
BACK = Change Active Browsable
S+BACK = Expand Collapse Collection

On the center
Rotary
SELECTOR = Browse Active Browsable
S+SELECTOR = Transition Type

push button
PUSH SELECTOR = Perform Primary Action On Active Browsable
S+PUSH SELECTOR = Toggle ExternalDisplay

On the right
LOAD PREPARE = Add To Prepare
S+LOAD PREPARE = Full Screen

Since you do not use video I was thinking to changing as follows.

On the left
BACK = Expand Collapse Collection
S+BACK = Switch Sampler PlayerC

On the center
Rotary
SELECTOR = Browse Active Browsable
S+SELECTOR = Change Active Browsable

push button
PUSH SELECTOR = Perform Primary Action On Active Browsable
S+PUSH SELECTOR = Full Screen

On the right
LOAD PREPARE = Add To Prepare
S+LOAD PREPARE = Switch Sampler PlayerD

Also Instead of having the S+LOAD empty the players
I can map them to Load as a clone of master So you cam load and load as a clone when using players 1,2,3,4 but when using player 1,2 with samplers 1 and 2

Then the load button that used to work for the player would
S+LOAD =Browse sample bank
LOAD = LOAD sample bank

Let me know what you think about all that.

Mike
Are you experiencing that too?

On the Time display mode for the deck I thought it would be useful to change that to
Shift+ Platter touch to the shift LOAD if you don't care about the player empty command.

In other words
Shift+ JogWheel = smartseek
Shift+ platter tap= toggle time display modes

your thoughts.
DDJSR_C_31_RV13A.zip
(29.99 KiB) Downloaded 262 times
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1354
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby P_Jean on 20 May 2014, 22:12

to help you, can you change something ... ? At the beginning of the Mapping Code ...

PCDevice and MacDevice , and Publisher ...
Publisher is not "Mixvibes" ...
PCDevice and MacDevice are : Pioneer DDJ-SR not DDJ-SX

And some fourteenBitsMidiTable are not the same of the DDJ-SX.

Code: Select all
<main>
  <version major="1" minor="0"/>
  <controller kind="MIDI">
    <id ID="4294169106"/>
    <properties Model="DDJ-SR" Manufacturer="Pioneer" Version="3.1RV13A - Video"
                Publisher="Mixvibes" PCDevice="Pioneer DDJ-SX" MacDevice="Pioneer DDJ-SX"
                HiRes="on"/>
User avatar
P_Jean
 
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Dec 2009, 16:24


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby daniel clark on 20 May 2014, 22:17

FigDJ wrote:
I know exactly what what your talking about now and you are absolutely right. Perhaps It could be made available in the user maps section of the downloads and add a disclaimer that frees MIxvibes from future support.


Offtopic.HorsSujet!
this would be a perfect solution :!:
Image
Image
January 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month
MEMBER OF:
:cool: C00l People MV Society :cool:

PLEASE REGISTER YOUR SOFTWARE...FORUM RULES
2014 dell XPS8700
intel core i5 4400@3.10ghz
12 gigs DDR3 ram
NVDIA GeForce GT635
Win 10 /64 bits OS
Realteck 7.1
Home USB sound dogle
Asus VE247H monitor
Logitec G-15 ser 1 gaming keyboard
U-Mix Control Pro 2
User avatar
daniel clark
 
Posts: 6858
Joined: 31 Oct 2008, 00:01
Location: Charleston,S C


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 20 May 2014, 22:36

P_Jean wrote:to help you, can you change something ... ? At the beginning of the Mapping Code ...

PCDevice and MacDevice , and Publisher ...
Publisher is not "Mixvibes" ...
PCDevice and MacDevice are : Pioneer DDJ-SR not DDJ-SX

And some fourteenBitsMidiTable are not the same of the DDJ-SX.

Code: Select all
<main>
  <version major="1" minor="0"/>
  <controller kind="MIDI">
    <id ID="4294169106"/>
    <properties Model="DDJ-SR" Manufacturer="Pioneer" Version="3.1RV13A - Video"
                Publisher="Mixvibes" PCDevice="Pioneer DDJ-SX" MacDevice="Pioneer DDJ-SX"
                HiRes="on"/>

All that information will be taken care off when I finalize the mapping. For now we are still testing and it is only for those who like to download at their own risk so the publisher and all that is not important for now, just like anyone that starts with a base map for one controller to get an approximation and make it work for another controller.

As far as the 14bits MIDI tables, I will look into that with the documentation that is available to me. If you have additional information please post it, send it or provide a link. Just saying that they are not correct without providing further insight or alternatives is not helping anybody.
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1354
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby MikeFossati on 20 May 2014, 23:02

Regarding the FX LEDs, version 13A does not work for me, Version 12A works but not in every case the results are as expected. Maybe we should agree on a set of tests we can run through with each version to make sure we fully understand what changes. Unfortunately I got home late so didn't find time tonight to create some tests... :(

After some initial tests here are some things that do not work as expected:
- pressing shift on either deck 1 or 2 affects the LEDs on both FX1 and FX2 (not sure if thisis the expected behavior)
- when in decks 1 and 2 and channel C or D are selected, when pressing shift the LEDs change from blinking to on (when releasing shift they start blinking again)
- when in decks 3 and 4, the LEDs are either on or off (meaning that when selecting channels C or D the LEDs do not blink and are either on or off)
- we still have the problem of the LEDs not turning to off when selecting channels C or D (example: when I'm on channel A and switch to channel D, then LED1 remains on and LED2 blinks)

This truly is a challenge on getting it right...

Mike
MikeFossati
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 Apr 2014, 17:55
Location: Zurich, Switzerland


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 20 May 2014, 23:19

MikeFossati wrote:Regarding the FX LEDs, version 13A does not work for me, Version 12A works but not in every case the results are as expected. Maybe we should agree on a set of tests we can run through with each version to make sure we fully understand what changes. Unfortunately I got home late so didn't find time tonight to create some tests... :(

After some initial tests here are some things that do not work as expected:
- pressing shift on either deck 1 or 2 affects the LEDs on both FX1 and FX2 (not sure if thisis the expected behavior)
- when in decks 1 and 2 and channel C or D are selected, when pressing shift the LEDs change from blinking to on (when releasing shift they start blinking again)
- when in decks 3 and 4, the LEDs are either on or off (meaning that when selecting channels C or D the LEDs do not blink and are either on or off)
- we still have the problem of the LEDs not turning to off when selecting channels C or D (example: when I'm on channel A and switch to channel D, then LED1 remains on and LED2 blinks)

This truly is a challenge on getting it right...

Mike


Mike quick question. Does the results that you provided are for 12A or 13A? You mentioned both and referred 13A as not working for you. It doesn't work at all or it is behaving as you described? Or are the test results for 12A?
Thanks for the feedback
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1354
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby MikeFossati on 20 May 2014, 23:26

FigDJ wrote:Mike quick question. Does the results that you provided are for 12A or 13A? You mentioned both and referred 13A as not working for you. It doesn't work at all or it is behaving as you described? Or are the test results for 12A?
Thanks for the feedback

The results above are for 12A. With 13A the LEDs did not work for me, happy to retest tomorrow to check whether I made a mistake somewhere.
MikeFossati
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 Apr 2014, 17:55
Location: Zurich, Switzerland


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 21 May 2014, 02:00

DDJSR_C_31_RV14A.zip
(29.74 KiB) Downloaded 228 times
MikeFossati wrote:The results above are for 12A. With 13A the LEDs did not work for me, happy to retest tomorrow to check whether I made a mistake somewhere.


Mike
Thank you for your feedback, as always is very much appreciated.
You are welcome to test 13A and if it gives you the same results then here is 14A.

I have gone back to a much simpler setup for the FX-Assign (no blinking) in search for a good indication. This is much simpler to do in the DDJ-SX than it is here, but anyway the expected results.

Player 1 selected
Select FX1-1
LED1= on LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
LED1= on LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-2
LED1= off LED2= on
Press the shift key and hold
LED1= off LED2= on
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-3 by pressing shift+1
LED1= on but dim LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
LED1= on but dim LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-4 by pressing shift+2
LED1= off LED2= on but dim
Press the shift key and hold
LED1= off LED2= on but dim
left go of the Shift key

What I am attempting here is
Channel 1 selected =LED1 on (all others off)
Channel 2 selected =LED2 on (all others off)
Channel 3 selected =LED1 on but dim (all others off)
Channel 4 selected =LED2 on but dim (all others off)
Master selected = LED in the FX section on (all LEDs in FX Assign section off)

Same results expected when using FX2 assign
Switch to players 3 and 4. The same indication expected.

Please led me know if you have other concerns.
djsamrties had expressed trouble with the samplers, are experiencing some trouble in that area as well?
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1354
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby MikeFossati on 21 May 2014, 20:44

Here are the results for the FX leds with version 14A:

Player 1 selected
-----------------
Select FX1-1
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-2
[ok] LED1= off LED2= on
Press the shift key and hold
[ok] LED1= off LED2= on
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-3 by pressing shift+1
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-4 by pressing shift+2
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
left go of the Shift key

Player 2 selected
-----------------
Select FX1-1
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-2
[ok] LED1= off LED2= on
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= off LED2= on
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-3 by pressing shift+1
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-4 by pressing shift+2
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
left go of the Shift key

Player 3 selected
-----------------
Select FX1-1
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-2
[ok] LED1= off LED2= on
Press the shift key and hold
[ok] LED1= off LED2= on
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-3 by pressing shift+1
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-4 by pressing shift+2
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
left go of the Shift key

Player 4 selected
-----------------
Select FX1-1
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[ok] LED1= on LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-2
[ok] LED1= off LED2= on
Press the shift key and hold
[ok] LED1= off LED2= on
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-3 by pressing shift+1
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off] LED1= on but dim LED2= off
left go of the Shift key

Select FX1-4 by pressing shift+2
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
Press the shift key and hold
[not ok - both LEDs off]LED1= off LED2= on but dim
left go of the Shift key

I think 'dimmed' is the detault for buttons when they are not selected/activated. When I press shift+FX1-1 for channel C or shift+FX1-2 for channel D the corresponding LED go to 'off', as soon as I release shift the LED goes to 'dimmed'.

The LED for 'master' is on when selected, when shift is pressed the LED goes to off (as soon as shift is released the LED is on again).
MikeFossati
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 Apr 2014, 17:55
Location: Zurich, Switzerland


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 21 May 2014, 20:53

MikeFossati wrote:Here are the results for the FX leds with version 14A:...
I think 'dimmed' is the detault for buttons when they are not selected/activated. When I press shift+FX1-1 for channel C or shift+FX1-2 for channel D the corresponding LED go to 'off', as soon as I release shift the LED goes to 'dimmed'.

The LED for 'master' is on when selected, when shift is pressed the LED goes to off (as soon as shift is released the LED is on again).

Thanks for the input. I will take a look tonight.
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1354
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


PreviousNext

Return to Mapping Midi




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes