Remix live: Manually entered information on samples

   Mixvibes iOS / Android applications for iPhone and iPad: CrossDJ / CrossDJ Remote

Remix live: Manually entered information on samples

Postby Gouafhg on 18 Jul 2016, 09:00

Hi!
I just got hold of Remix live, so I'm not entirely familiar with it yet. However, I can't really find a manual for the app so I figure I should ask my question here.

I imported a few samples from iTunes to remix live. It worked great, but it automatically identifies BPM and sample lengths in beats.

Is there a way to manually enter this, including any other sample information (well that'd be BPM, beats, key)?

- Magnus
Gouafhg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2016, 08:54


Re: Remix live: Manually entered information on samples

Postby Gouafhg on 18 Jul 2016, 11:40

Oops, maybe this should be moved to the iOS support page?

- Magnus
Gouafhg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2016, 08:54


Re: Remix live: Manually entered information on samples

Postby RoJeC on 19 Jul 2016, 08:52

Moved it...

Not to familiar with the app, but in the other Mixvibes products BPM detection is needed to have the apps mix and sync with at the beat. So changing the values will make it work off beat. Unless you need to double or halve the BPM which was detected.

Don't know if this option is implemented (yet)
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual alternative link: ? https://www.mixvibes.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/cross-dj-user-manual.pdf
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/help/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4918
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands


Re: Remix live: Manually entered information on samples

Postby Gouafhg on 20 Jul 2016, 09:59

Thing is, that I rendered my own loops from one of my own projects.

Since I made the samples myself I know the true sample data, i.e. that they are are 64 beats of 127 BPM, not 63 beats of 126 BPM or 73 beats of 145 BPM.

Usually the autodetect works well when detecting beats/BPM on samples with simpler rythmic patterns like beats or so. But when it comes to a melody line that is not as simple or straight forward, it often gets it wrong which makes it out of tune/beat.

- Magnus
Gouafhg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2016, 08:54


Re: Remix live: Manually entered information on samples

Postby RoJeC on 20 Jul 2016, 19:00

Understand your issue. Don't have the knowledge of the app to help you out...

In Cross (PC/Mac) there are settings for samples to bypass the autodetect. But don't know if it has been implemented in the Remix.

There might be an advanced option to set your own downbeats... But again just suggesting how the other MixVibes software works... Might be this new app has some implementations at the ToDo list..
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual alternative link: ? https://www.mixvibes.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/cross-dj-user-manual.pdf
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/help/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4918
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands



Return to iOS Discussion




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes