Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

  

Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby IBOBG on 21 Nov 2017, 18:32

Hi,
Please post any information /results/ mappings you may have for the
Hercules p32 DJ controller here.

Thanks.

https://support.hercules.com/en/product/p32dj-en/
IBOBG
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Sep 2017, 17:23


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby FigDJ on 21 Nov 2017, 20:54

hercules p32 notes.txt
(3.69 KiB) Downloaded 2096 times
Basic Documentation on the attached text file.

Actual map file send separately via PM
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1277
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby IBOBG on 22 Nov 2017, 15:53

Just installed it. Great to see the mapping working so well. (i've been dreaming of this :))

One or two glitches that need to be ironed out...

1. Cue Point - Pad 3 doesn't work correctly for decks 1 & 2. When pressed, the pad will not toggle to led ON/Will not save the cue point. However, if you make the cue point manually within Cross (with the trackpad-mouse) it does light up correctly. But then you cannot delete it from the controller
You can set/ delete all the other cues this way as expected though

Suggestion - Loop activated led state. Currently, it flashes red to indicate the cue is armed with a loop. It flashes slowly - a bit too slowly. Maybe have it flash alot faster, or have it set to a blue color for a very clear instant distinction.

2. Mixer faders 1 &2 are "connected" with fader A. Fader B doesn't work independently.

3. Loop Page -(Suggestion) Trigger Loops pad 1-8, I think it would be nice if they were all lit Purple on page opening.
The 8 pads underneath are lit in a very random state. They don't seem to be mapped to anything so the page looks confusing on selection. They also change colors - a bit randomly.

4. Slicer Mode. Suggestion -Once the Slicer is activated, the pads 9-16 could be lit up to show they are armed .

5. Browser - Pressing the browser button does not open the Browser page.

6. Master selector suggestion - I know it's shift + sync. But it can be added to Hercules large Filter knob. So it then has a double function. 1.to set as Master .
2 to select new sample /hot banks. I've mapped it to check and it works fine like this.

Overall -excellent mapping.
IBOBG
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Sep 2017, 17:23


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby FigDJ on 22 Nov 2017, 19:24

A few glitches are expected. I don't have the controller available physically so I have to map from documentation and have no way to actually tested.

IBOBG wrote:1. Cue Point - Pad 3 doesn't work correctly for decks 1 & 2. When pressed, the pad will not toggle to led ON/Will not save the cue point. However, if you make the cue point manually within Cross (with the trackpad-mouse) it does light up correctly. But then you cannot delete it from the controller
You can set/ delete all the other cues this way as expected though

It is fixed now.
IBOBG wrote:Suggestion - Loop activated led state. Currently, it flashes red to indicate the cue is armed with a loop. It flashes slowly - a bit too slowly. Maybe have it flash alot faster, or have it set to a blue color for a very clear instant distinction.

I modified to blink between blue and red.
I also doubled the blink rate.
IBOBG wrote:2. Mixer faders 1 &2 are "connected" with fader A. Fader B doesn't work independently.

It is fixed now.
IBOBG wrote:3. Loop Page -(Suggestion) Trigger Loops pad 1-8, I think it would be nice if they were all lit Purple on page opening.

Working on this one.
IBOBG wrote:
The 8 pads underneath are lit in a very random state. They don't seem to be mapped to anything so the page looks confusing on selection. They also change colors - a bit randomly.


The pattern is as follows
Loop Mode
P13 P14 P15 P16
P09 P10 P11 P12
P05 P06 P07 P08
P01 P02 P03 P04

P13= autoloop 2
P14= autoloop 4
P15= autoloop 8
P16= autoloop16
P09= autoloop 1
P10= autoloop 1/2
P11= autoloop 1/4
P12= autoloop 1/8

They function as activating the loop while the pad is pressed.
Also if you use the shift + pad it creates a loop that stays activated
until shift + pad is used again.

The lower pads should function as follow:

LoopIn LoopOut LoopOnOff LoopDouble
Red Blue Purple Red

AutoLoopSelect- AutoLoopSelect+ ReloopOnOff LoopHalve
Blue Red Purple Blue

Look at the manual loop indicators in Cross

IBOBG wrote:4. Slicer Mode. Suggestion -Once the Slicer is activated, the pads 9-16 could be lit up to show they are armed.

Done
IBOBG wrote:5. Browser - Pressing the browser button does not open the Browser page.


If your window focus is on a node on the left it will open the node.
If your windows focus is on the track list it turn on and off
track preview or listening without loading the track.

IBOBG wrote:6. Master selector suggestion - I know it's shift + sync. But it can be added to Hercules large Filter knob. So it then has a double function. 1.to set as Master .
2 to select new sample /hot banks. I've mapped it to check and it works fine like this.

Send me your modified map via PM so I can see what you mean.

I am also interested in the behavior of the digits display. In theory it should be displaying loop sizes.

Will post corrected map soon.
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1277
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby IBOBG on 23 Nov 2017, 15:18

Great to hear the fixes are done already.

I understand the Loop page better now with your explanation thanks.
The leds work as expected.

The Looping size digits display works really well - great work!

I don't understand how to access the browser at present, but i've added the expand/collapse collection command (toggle) to the browser button. See what you think. It works for me.

The +shift "high" knob on Deck C isn't mapped at present.

I haven't worked out where Gain is, and where the filter is...help.

Just sending you the mapping now.
IBOBG
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Sep 2017, 17:23


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby FigDJ on 25 Nov 2017, 15:28

I completed the loop page for all auto loop leds to be purple and turn blue when the auto loop is activated.

There were some errors on my part as far as the filters and gain. the corrected version which I will post hopefully today works as follows.

Left side
HI=Treble Gain A
Shift + HI =Treble Gain C
Macro + HI= GainA

Mid=Mid Gain A
Shift + MID= Mid Gain C

Low= Bass Gain A
Shift + Low=Bass Gain C
macro + Low= Filter A

The right side works the same for decks B and D

The track navigation

Rotate= scroll up and down
Shift + rotate= changes the focus from right to left and back.
this is use to change from nodes to folders to tracks.

Pressing the button
If focus is on nodes or folder= open node or folder
if focus is on tracks= turn pre listening on/off
Shift + pressing the button= expand/collapse collection.

I will be sending the file vis PM shorlty. This is T2 for test #2.
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1277
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby IBOBGG on 04 Dec 2017, 13:44

I've sent you a pm from a new account. Been having log in issues. Resend me the T2 file . Thanks.
IBOBGG
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 19:58


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby IBOBGG on 05 Dec 2017, 17:11

I've testes t3 and t4.

I prefer t4 with the way it works.

CUE POINTS -Somethings gone wrong in T3 and T4 . - they do not always arm on loading a song. They work properly in T2 . Although they still seem to be a little volatile here too where they don't always want to arm on loading everytime- l've been loading the same few songs over and over to test this.

Dragging a song from one window to the other to copy - The armed cue points don't all copy over. The loops do though.

LOOPING COLOR - Armed loops will be much better if they don't flash at all. It will be better if they are just solid blue. 8 slots full of flashing loops is way too much on the eyes and senses.

LOOP SIZE INDICATOR - Works well in t4. It looks better with nothing displayed when its not active- Although the dream is to be able to select the loop size without looking at the laptop screen at all.

LAUNCHING Cross + Controller - Odd behavior. The hot/sampler cues sometimes are lit up randomly even though the slots are empty. You have to fill them and then delete them to turn them off. Selecting a new bank does not switch them off. Neither does shift + pad to delete it.

LOOP SLICER PAGE- No visual feedback at all, l know your working on this.

LIBRARY BROWSER - Working well

FILTER + GAIN - Work well for A + B. But how do l access C + D? Or maybe it's not mapped?
IBOBGG
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 19:58


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby FigDJ on 05 Dec 2017, 20:05

Thanks for the feedback. Will check on it and get back to you.
Image
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1277
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: Hercules p32 DJ Controller mapping

Postby IBOBGG on 06 Dec 2017, 20:26

T5 Results

LOOP SIZE ENCODER - is in constant off display, even when the loop is activated.

LOOPING AND CUE POINTS -

I've loaded the same song into both Player A and B
Pads 1-7 are cue points = RED
Pad - 8 is a loop = BLUE (No flashing) good stuff.

I've launched the app OVER 8 times and sometimes get different results for Player B (Player B is the problem).

I will go through the pages. With pads 1-16 as numbers.

HOT CUE PAGE
PLAYER A -
OFF PADS = 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16
RED PADS = 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 .
BLUE PAD = 8

PLAYER B -
OFF PADS = 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16
RED PADS = 1,6 .
BLUE PAD = 0

LOOP PAGE
PLAYER A -
OFF PADS = 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,11,15
RED PADS = 9,12,14
BLUE PADS =10,13,16

PLAYER B -
OFF PADS = 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,11,13,14,15,16
RED PADS = 9,12
BLUE PADS = 10

SLICER PAGE
PLAYER A -
OFF PADS = 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16
RED PADS = 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,

BLUE PADS = 8
PLAYER B -
OFF PADS = 1,2,3,4,5,7,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16

SAMPLER PAGE
PLAYER A
OFF PADS = 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16
RED PADS = 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,
BLUE PADS = 8

PLAYER B
OFF PADS = 1,2,4,5,6,7,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16
RED PADS = 3
BLUE PADS = 8

Also, in the T4 sampler page, the hot sample pads would all light up when launched = Pads 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 - Thats stopped working in T5 for Player A and B.

Thanks.
IBOBGG
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 19:58


Next

Return to Mapping Midi




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes