Page 1 of 1

Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 26 Aug 2014, 04:25
by ashp
is it possible to map or engage a modifier using two buttons. it tried to manually create it: -

<mapping name="DECK A HOTCUE DELETE MODE">
<events>
<MIDI type="Note" parameter="0x47" modifiers="ML1" channel="0x4"/>
</events>
<controls>
<control alias="mod(ShiftLogic2)"/>
</controls>
<preset name="Toggler Button">
<parameters>
<parameter object="invert" key="on" value="off"/>
</parameters>
</preset>
</mapping>

but I cannot disengage once activated. Can this feature be implemented into future releases so that we can engage modifiers using two buttons.

This would really help me to achieve the desired mapping.

Many Thanks,
Ash

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 26 Aug 2014, 05:25
by FigDJ
Please explain the sequence of what do you want to happen. From what I can see you want to delete a hot cue while on ML1 and also engage ML2. Or you just want to engage ML2 by using the hot cue delete button only when ML1 is engaged?????

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 26 Aug 2014, 11:46
by ashp
Hi FigDJ,

Sorry for the confusion, ML1 is the shift button and ML2 is HOTCUE_4
Normally to delete hot cues you have to press shift and hotcue_4 then the LEDs start to flash fast and you can delete hotcues by pressing shift and hotcue_4 you can leave this mode.

With my mapping I can set cues and I can activate ML2 using shift and hotcue_4 and all my leds work including flashing but I have trouble returning back to set new cues.

Many Thanks

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 26 Aug 2014, 15:08
by FigDJ
ashp wrote:Hi FigDJ,

Sorry for the confusion, ML1 is the shift button and ML2 is HOTCUE_4
Normally to delete hot cues you have to press shift and hotcue_4 then the LEDs start to flash fast and you can delete hotcues by pressing shift and hotcue_4 you can leave this mode.

With my mapping I can set cues and I can activate ML2 using shift and hotcue_4 and all my leds work including flashing but I have trouble returning back to set new cues.

Many Thanks


I need a bit more information in order to try to provide you with a suitable solution. Without knowing which controller you use my understanding so far is as follows:

Ther are some buttons for hot cues presumably 1 to 4?
You use ML1 as you shift.
ML1 + Hotcue_4 set ML2 on which in turn allows you to delete hotcues.
With the information that I have it seems to me that there is an easier way to do what you want. However, I am just guessing at this point.
Please let me know what controller are you using and if so desired post your map so I can take a look and suggest an appropriate solution.

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 27 Aug 2014, 03:08
by ashp
I'm using Numark Mixtrack Quad.

Here's the mapping file so far: -
MixTrack Quad(Numark).mappings.txt


60% setup

3 Master knobs work
eq works
browser knob works
browser leds do not work
faders work
pfls work sticky deck C & D PFL led need sorting
platters work LED's needs tweaking
Sync, cue, play and stutter work but need tweaking
keylock+pitch range not mapped
samples work incl. leds
hotcues work incl. leds but you cannot delete (gets stuck)
FX works needs tweaking but no led
autoloop needs mapping
slip mode needs mapping
roll mode needs mapping
loop works but leds need mapping

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 27 Aug 2014, 20:50
by FigDJ
ashp wrote:I'm using Numark Mixtrack Quad.

Here's the mapping file so far: -
MixTrack Quad(Numark).mappings.txt


60% setup

3 Master knobs work
eq works
browser knob works
browser leds do not work
faders work
pfls work sticky deck C & D PFL led need sorting
platters work LED's needs tweaking
Sync, cue, play and stutter work but need tweaking
keylock+pitch range not mapped
samples work incl. leds
hotcues work incl. leds but you cannot delete (gets stuck)
FX works needs tweaking but no led
autoloop needs mapping
slip mode needs mapping
roll mode needs mapping
loop works but leds need mapping


We should work one problem at a time. Just after a quick glance I noticed the following regarding the modifiers.

Shift= Shift logic 1 ML1
Currently mapped as follows:
DECK A-->parameter 61--> channel 2
DECK B-->parameter 62--> channel 3
DECK C-->parameter 61--> channel 4
DECK D-->parameter 61--> channel 5

The correct map is
DECK A-->parameter 61--> channel 1
DECK B-->parameter 62--> channel 2
DECK C-->parameter 61--> channel 3
DECK D-->parameter 61--> channel 4

HOTCUE DELETE MODE= SHift logic 2 ML2
(only Active if ML1 is active)
Currently mapped as follows:
DECK A-->parameter 70--> channel 2
DECK B-->parameter 70--> channel 3
DECK C-->parameter 70--> channel 4
DECK D-->parameter 70--> channel 5

The correct map is
DECK A-->parameter 70--> channel 1
DECK B-->parameter 70--> channel 2
DECK C-->parameter 70--> channel 3
DECK D-->parameter 70--> channel 4

Make those modifications to a copy of your map and see if the logic switching is now working for you. We can then start working on a 100% solution.
Hope it works (finger crossed) :)

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 28 Aug 2014, 16:50
by FigDJ
So I noticed that you have all command skewed up one channel???

My thoughts on this and looking at other map for this controller is that all command for the deck would follow
Mixer = CH0
Deck A= CH1
Deck B= CH2
Deck C= CH3
Deck 4= CH4

Unless I got the convention wrong in which case it makes sense to have

Mixer = CH1
Deck A= CH2
Deck B= CH3
Deck C= CH4
Deck 4= CH5

you thoughts???

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 30 Aug 2014, 04:53
by ashp
FigDJ wrote:Unless I got the convention wrong in which case it makes sense to have

Mixer = CH1
Deck A= CH2
Deck B= CH3
Deck C= CH4
Deck 4= CH5

you thoughts???


Sorry for late reply been occupied, i've double checked it and it follows the second convention.

can you ask the team if Cross supports triggering modifiers within modifiers e.g. press shift button and pad button to activate ML2.

If I attempt to map this within Cross no command is detected.

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 30 Aug 2014, 12:15
by P_Jean
ashp wrote:
FigDJ wrote:Unless I got the convention wrong in which case it makes sense to have

Mixer = CH1
Deck A= CH2
Deck B= CH3
Deck C= CH4
Deck 4= CH5

you thoughts???


Sorry for late reply been occupied, i've double checked it and it follows the second convention.

can you ask the team if Cross supports triggering modifiers within modifiers e.g. press shift button and pad button to activate ML2.

If I attempt to map this within Cross no command is detected.



Conditions (Shift) are combined only on actions
The "shift" is considered as a condition, not as an action.
We can not, unfortunately, set a condition with another condition on a condition, requires the programming of an action.

Re: Mapping modifier combos

PostPosted: 30 Aug 2014, 13:07
by FigDJ
Ashp

I contacted Numark and also checked other maps that they provided and they all seem to follow convention #1.

P_Jean

I am not asking the question here. Trying to set up a condition only if another condition is set is something that I have mapped many times while modifying the map for my Quneos. You seem to have a handle. Please feel free to take over with helpful advise.