MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

  

Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby djsamrties on 01 May 2014, 14:23

all right.
i will try to resumeeverything i did to be sure that i dont forget anything.

1 - install Cross DJ
2 - install serato, connect my ddj sr : everything work fine (but the soft isnt very good..)
3 - open Cross DJ, connect my ddj sr and choose the map of ddj SX in the list of the controller in the MIDI panel. Main fonctions work with this map but not all.
4 - i duplicate the "DDJ SX" map in "DDJ SX SAM pour SR"
5 - i export this controller mapping for you (DDJ SX SAM pour SR)
6 - and finaly i "add controller mappings" with no programmation call "DDJ SR SAM". I dont know if it could help you or not.

now i send you this 2 mappings, hoping that this is what you want but im not sure. And i will write you the list who say what work and what doesnt work.

Thanks a loooot !
DDJ-SX SAM pour SR(Pioneer).mappings
DDJ SX SAM pour SR
(577.68 KiB) Downloaded 325 times
DDJ SR SAM(Manufacturer).mappings
mapping DDJ SR SAM
(11.7 KiB) Downloaded 342 times
User avatar
djsamrties
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 10 Mar 2014, 19:25


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby djsamrties on 01 May 2014, 18:29

Hello FigDJ,
i just paste few hours to do the list !
very long and fastidious...
but i now i can send to you.
I hope that you have all that you need to begin the challenge of the DDJ SR map with me now ;)
The list is a word doc.
Tell me if every thing is good or not :)
THANKS !!!
tableau DDJ SR work v 001.docx
(195.73 KiB) Downloaded 302 times
User avatar
djsamrties
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 10 Mar 2014, 19:25


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby djsamrties on 06 May 2014, 10:17

Hello FigDJ,
Can you say to me if my answers are good ?
Is there something missing for you ?
Tomorrow i go for few day of hollidays so i could not answer easily,
thanks a lot,
Smarties
User avatar
djsamrties
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 10 Mar 2014, 19:25


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 06 May 2014, 16:17

djsamrties wrote:Hello FigDJ,
Can you say to me if my answers are good ?
Is there something missing for you ?
Tomorrow i go for few day of hollidays so i could not answer easily,
thanks a lot,
Smarties


I am sorry I haven't got back to you sooner as I have been very busy lately. I got your files and they provide me with a good start. Now this is going to take some time.

I will have to make a comparison of the DDJ-SR and DDJ-SX MIDI tables and look at the difwerence for the functions that don't work.

Fix the one I find and then go button by button using the picture to map all remaining fuctions.
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1332
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby djsamrties on 06 May 2014, 17:38

Fantastic !!!
you can't imagine what pleasure it's for me to imagine use my ddj SR with Cross DJ..
THANKS A LOT !!!
if you need some other information or something else tell me.
Thanks again :)
User avatar
djsamrties
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 10 Mar 2014, 19:25


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 06 May 2014, 18:08

djsamrties wrote:Fantastic !!!
you can't imagine what pleasure it's for me to imagine use my ddj SR with Cross DJ..
THANKS A LOT !!!
if you need some other information or something else tell me.
Thanks again :)


In your current map are you able to load a track into decks 3 and 4 when using Cross in 4 deck mode?

test this
Put your Cross in 2 deck and 2 sample mode.
Using the (GUI) Load sample banks on sampler 1 and 2
Using the (GUI) play 1 sample on each.

press the switch deck buttons from 1 to 3 and 2 to 4.

Are you able to control any mixer functions for channels C and D?

Meaning gain, treble, mid and bass?
If the test did not work to control the mixer then try the
attached file. This is not going to get everything working as it is a research file.

with this file

test this
Put your Cross in 4 deck mode.
Using the (GUI) Load track on all 4 decks
Using the (GUI) play all the 4 track.
press the switch deck buttons from 1 to 3 and 2 to 4.
Are you able to control any mixer functions for channels C and D?
Meaning gain, treble, mid and bass?

this will give me a good indication about channel switching.
I need to resolve that 1st.
DDJSR_C_31_RV.zip
(30.31 KiB) Downloaded 245 times
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1332
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby djsamrties on 06 May 2014, 23:55

i have done the test.

With my current map, i have load samples in sampler 1 and 2,
and then, when i push the "DECK 3" button, Cross DJ say to me :

"SWITCH SAMPLER / PLAYER C Sampler C has a bank loaded, are you sure you want to switch to player ?"

If i say yes, then the sampler C turn off and is replace by "DECK C".
and i cant control the DECK C. All the controllers continue to manage DECK A.

I have done the same test with "DECK 4" button, but it dont load the PLAYER D at all.

Then i have done your second test with 4 decks playing and your mapping test DDJSR_C_31_RV, but unfortunetly, it still impossible to control the DECK C and D.
Player control, gain, treble etc.. still control DECK A and B

if you need more precision tell me :)
User avatar
djsamrties
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 10 Mar 2014, 19:25


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 07 May 2014, 10:52

OK
Quick question

Did you ever set up the DDJ-SR to work with DJ software other than Serato?

If you have not, please check page 26 of your user manual to set it up. Also go into the pdf provided by Mixvibes for the DDJ-SX and follow the settings recommendations on the 1st page the settings are very similar. Read the instructions carefully perform the setting , check test #2 again and let me know what happened.
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1332
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby djsamrties on 07 May 2014, 12:30

Hello,
i just do some test with the soft "mixxx" but it's all.
i dont do specialy setup because i think that serato say its not useful if you are on mac and i'm on mac.
is there changing something for your instructions to know that i am on a mac computer or not ?
and if you think that i have to do the setup that you explain to me, i will off course.
Can you just send to me the user manual of what you speak with the 26 page to be sure that i have the same manual as you.
Same question about pdf of mixvibes for ddj sx, if you have a link, or the pdf, it could be more sure that if i try to find the right..
thanks a lot.
User avatar
djsamrties
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 10 Mar 2014, 19:25


Re: MAPPING FOR DDJ SR

Postby FigDJ on 07 May 2014, 13:27

djsamrties wrote:Hello,
i just do some test with the soft "mixxx" but it's all.
i dont do specialy setup because i think that serato say its not useful if you are on mac and i'm on mac.
is there changing something for your instructions to know that i am on a mac computer or not ?
and if you think that i have to do the setup that you explain to me, i will off course.
Can you just send to me the user manual of what you speak with the 26 page to be sure that i have the same manual as you.
Same question about pdf of mixvibes for ddj sx, if you have a link, or the pdf, it could be more sure that if i try to find the right..
thanks a lot.


Your controller doesn't seem to be changing channels when the deck switch are pressed. i am trying to find out if the cause is a hardware setup. On the DDJ family of controllers you have to set up the controller as just a MIDI device so everything can be mapped when not using Serato's factory map. I am wondering if the channel switch problem has to do with that.

The manual for the controller
http://pioneerdj.com/support/product.php?lang=en&p=DDJ-SR&t=man

Mixvibes DDJ-SX instructions
http://www.mixvibes.com/sites/default/files/support/files/Pioneer%20DDJ-SX%20CROSS%203.0.pdf
FigDJ
 
Posts: 1332
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 16:03
Location: Odenton, MD


PreviousNext

Return to Mapping Midi




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes