Cross MIDI output mapping

  

Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby yanndj on 03 Apr 2012, 07:38

Hi
If you create an output mapping section,it will output from Mixvibes to the APC40.
If you want the APC40 to control Cross, it's an input mapping !
This can be easily done with the MIDI learn function : press the APC40 key you want to assign, then chose the Mixvibes function that has to be triggered.
User avatar
yanndj
 
Posts: 297
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 13:10
Location: Paris, France


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby BennyB on 03 Apr 2012, 08:49

danielsoto wrote:
Lastly, I added this lines for the play/pause button.
Code: Select all
<mapping>
      <control alias="fam(Player)[0x1].PlayPause" value="true"/>
      <MIDI type="Note" parameter="0x34" channel="0x3" value="127"/>
   </mapping>
   <mapping>
      <control alias="fam(Player)[0x1].PlayPause" value="false"/>
      <MIDI type="Note" parameter="0x34" channel="0x3" value="0"/>
   </mapping>


At the end, the output section looked like this

Code: Select all

<output-mappings>
   <mapping>
      <control alias="fam(Player)[0x1].PlayPause" value="true"/>
      <MIDI type="Note" parameter="0x34" channel="0x3" value="127"/>
   </mapping>
   <mapping>
      <control alias="fam(Player)[0x1].PlayPause" value="false"/>
      <MIDI type="Note" parameter="0x34" channel="0x3" value="0"/>
   </mapping>
      </output-mappings>



And it works half as good as I would expect. The thing is, when I press the button in Cross with the trackpad, the MIDI out works and Cross turns on the button in the APC-40, but when I press the button in the APC-40 it blinks just while I'm pressing it. Is there a way to get this right?

Perhaps I need to add an 'event' tag. Not sure.

ps. thanks for the info yanndj


Why do you need to keep pressing play? I think it works in stutter mode using a MIDI controller (keep the sound "dipping"), that can be a reason.
The other thing is that mybe APC-40 has a built in function to start blinking leds if you hold on to them.

Have a nice play around mapping that controller. And keep in mind that most of it's leds have more than one colours.

(to get the colours try to play with values between 0 and 127, and if there is a detailed guide for it, there should be a chart which value light up which colour)
Image
April 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month

aka. Ben

"...Music Is The Answer To The Problems..."

FOUNDER OF:
:cool: c00l People MV Society :cool:
!!!Sampler Fi!!!
Helping MIXVIBES FORUM being an awsome place
since 2011!

MixVibes People!!! UNITE!!!
User avatar
BennyB
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 21:54
Location: Hungary


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby Support@MixVibes on 03 Apr 2012, 10:40

The output mapping is following the GUI. So if the GUI is blinking, the controller will.
Any other behavior is certainly a mistyping into the mapping or an hardware behavior.
User avatar
Support@MixVibes
 


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby danielsoto on 04 Apr 2012, 04:25

Hi,
Well I guess this falls into the category of hardware behavior. To make sure we understand each other: I don't need to keep pressed the play button, I'm talking about the toggle action.

I managed to make another button turn on when I press play, and the button play just blinks (push-release events). That, I guess, is the hardware behavior. By default, the controller turns on the button when pressed and off when released. Perhaps, Cross is sending the midi-out action right after the "press event". And then, when I release the button, the apc-40 turns off the button expecting the command to keep the button lid.

Keeping that in mind, I added 5 buttons to set HotCues that lid their neighbors to their right. And those buttons to the right are HotCue clearers. So, the clearers are giving me feedback of which hot cues are ready.

Question section:
Which of these:
Code: Select all
In&Out fam(Player)[0x1].AutoLoopSelect (Integer)
In     fam(Player)[0x1].AutoLoopTrigger (Trigger)
In&Out fam(Player)[0x1].AutoLoopSelectAndTrigger (Integer)

would allow me to set three buttons for different loop lengths?
I tried autoloopTrigger and it triggers the 1 bar loop.

What I want is 3 buttons triggering different loop lengths. Or possibly, two buttons to increase or decrease the loop lengths.

Regards,
Daniel SG
Music is my life
MixVibes Cross
Technics SL 1210 M5G
MacBook Pro, Pioneer DJM 800, Korg KP3, AKAI-APC40, NI Audio 8 DJ
User avatar
danielsoto
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 25 Jul 2006, 05:38
Location: Mexico DF


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby yanndj on 04 Apr 2012, 07:15

I feel like we are mixing two differents things here : MIDI output and MIDI input.

MIDI output will control the controller leds with the software, while MIDI input will control the software with the controller.

.
Last edited by yanndj on 04 Apr 2012, 18:10, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
yanndj
 
Posts: 297
Joined: 11 Jan 2008, 13:10
Location: Paris, France


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby Support@MixVibes on 04 Apr 2012, 08:48

danielsoto wrote:What I want is 3 buttons triggering different loop lengths.

In this case you need to use direct integer and set the value (from 0 to xx).
cross_autoloop-direct.png


Or possibly, two buttons to increase or decrease the loop lengths.

Then choose them and on have a -1 value and the other a +1 value.
cross_autoloop-dec.png

cross_autoloop-inc.png


You'd better edit all your inputs with the editor then do the outputs afterward.
User avatar
Support@MixVibes
 


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby danielsoto on 14 Apr 2012, 21:01

Hi and thanks for the support with the MIDI mapping.

Everything's going fine and from the last answer I also managed to make 16 buttons trigger all 8 effects for each player.

Now, I'm into the tracks rack. Preview gain knob and on/off button is doing fine, but I don't know which is the property for the 'seek' slider. I've tried the 'needle search' for the players using a knob and it is superb, I'm expecting to do something similar with the seek slider.

Which is the property for the seek slider or it isn't middle assignable?

Thanks,
DSG
Music is my life
MixVibes Cross
Technics SL 1210 M5G
MacBook Pro, Pioneer DJM 800, Korg KP3, AKAI-APC40, NI Audio 8 DJ
User avatar
danielsoto
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 25 Jul 2006, 05:38
Location: Mexico DF


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby BennyB on 17 Apr 2012, 11:14

danielsoto wrote:Hi and thanks for the support with the MIDI mapping.

Everything's going fine and from the last answer I also managed to make 16 buttons trigger all 8 effects for each player.

Now, I'm into the tracks rack. Preview gain knob and on/off button is doing fine, but I don't know which is the property for the 'seek' slider. I've tried the 'needle search' for the players using a knob and it is superb, I'm expecting to do something similar with the seek slider.

Which is the property for the seek slider or it isn't middle assignable?

Thanks,
DSG


As far as I know, it is not. I tried it already :(
Image
April 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month

aka. Ben

"...Music Is The Answer To The Problems..."

FOUNDER OF:
:cool: c00l People MV Society :cool:
!!!Sampler Fi!!!
Helping MIXVIBES FORUM being an awsome place
since 2011!

MixVibes People!!! UNITE!!!
User avatar
BennyB
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 21:54
Location: Hungary


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby sylMV on 17 Apr 2012, 14:04

Not assignable in the current version, but will be in Cross 2.0 (next version).
SylMV

Image
User avatar
sylMV
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: 04 Jan 2007, 09:38


Re: Cross MIDI output mapping

Postby matrix90 on 20 Jul 2012, 09:25

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<main>
  <version major="1" minor="0"/>
  <controller kind="MIDI">
    <id ID="2665624539"/>
    <properties Model="Model" Manufacturer="Manufacturer" Version="0.0" Publisher="Publisher"
                PCDevice="" MacDevice="" HiRes="off"/>
    <icon Data=""/>
    <mappings>
      <input-mappings>
        <mapping>
          <events>
            <MIDI type="CC" parameter="0x8" channel="0x1"/>
          </events>
          <controls>
            <control alias="fam(Player)[0x1].PlayPause"/>
          </controls>
          <preset name="Logic Fader/Knob">
            <parameters>
              <parameter object="invert" key="on" value="off"/>
              <parameter object="range" key="range begin" value="0"/>
              <parameter object="range" key="range end" value="1"/>
            </parameters>
          </preset>
        </mapping>
      </input-mappings>
      <output-mappings>
<mapping>
<control alias="fam(Player)[0x1].PlayPause" value="true"/>
<MIDI type="Note" parameter="0x8" channel="0x1" value="127"/>
</mapping>
<mapping>
<control alias="fam(Player)[0x1].PlayPause" value="false"/>
<MIDI type="Note" parameter="0x8" channel="0x1" value="0"/>
</mapping>
</output-mappings>
    </mappings>
  </controller>
</main>


why does not the LED lights? what is wrong? thank you ....
User avatar
matrix90
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 16 Oct 2010, 14:09


PreviousNext

Return to Mapping Midi




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes