Sync no longer works, please update app

   MixVibes Android applications for Smartphone and Pad: CrossDJ

Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby Dr185 on 05 Mar 2017, 11:52

Since my zenpad 8 updated its Android version this app doesn't work anywhere near as well as it did. 2 tracks I regularly mix now don't sync properly. The tempos are matched, however when I tap sync on the second track it now jumps several sections in rather than starting on the opening beat. It's now on the off beat and sounds strange. On my zenphone the same mix still works perfectly, but the tablet version is useless. I've reinstalled the app to no avail. I've even done a pointless factory reset. I can only imagine this is happening on many tablets that have recently updated, so surely an app update is required? I never seem to see updates for Cross DJ ever. I loved this app but now I have to manually hit play and hope my timing is spot on, with a little nudge on pitch bend. Now my studio quality mixes sound like I'm back on vinyl with low torque decks, passable but def not seamless.
Dr185
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 05:33


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby Dr185 on 05 Mar 2017, 15:19

Strangely I've noticed that my Asus phone is also running android 6 (as is the tablet) but Cross DJ works perfectly on it. So my assumption that Android 5 lollipop is needed to run it may be wrong.
Dr185
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 05:33


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby Dr185 on 05 Mar 2017, 16:08

On the tablet some tracks cue in bizarre places so I have to manually drag the wav form to the right position, but hitting cue just sends it back where it was originally. So I have a manually cue and hit play and hope for the best. Totally frustrating.
Dr185
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 05:33


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby RoJeC on 05 Mar 2017, 17:05

If you move the wave and press cue the cue is set to your selected point. This is saved with the track.
This was never changed in the app.

The algorithm to determine the most likely cue point does not always result in the wanted point. Especially when drifting beats or multiple bpms in a track.
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual? In Cross open menu, select Help (available 24/7).
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/FAQ/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4232
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby Dr185 on 06 Mar 2017, 00:40

Hi Ronald, that only works if the grid is correctly arranged. It will save a new cue point up to the nearest vertical line. But my point is that the whole track is misaligned and the opening beat is between two vertical lines, which it never was before. There's no way it will save a cue point between vertical lines. Thanks for your response, but you have ignored lots of other details I gave.
Dr185
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 05:33


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby vespadj on 08 Mar 2017, 12:53

Hi Dr185, I'm an user.
It seem you do not use correctly the avaible options.
In Advanced Settings set Sync mode = 4 beats
Mind if "Quantize" is on or off.
For each song you want to use SYNC , before play be sure that the grid is right: in wavegrid you can see |__i__i__i__| , if the main line isn't in phase, you need you edit it, with icon !...! and :down: ...!

read Option / Tutorial for many usefull graphic informations

Hope it help
vespadj
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 07 Sep 2015, 07:24


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby RoJeC on 08 Mar 2017, 15:30

In addition to repositioning grid you can press the ... and change the grid length in various ways.

If you want to use sync you best have Quantize enabled. Also setting Cue in between grid markers isn't ideal for sync. Though I understand this was your intended workaround.

Cross runs on Kitkat till current android.
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual? In Cross open menu, select Help (available 24/7).
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/FAQ/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4232
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby vespadj on 08 Mar 2017, 17:39

I mean that user must become familiar with the command Quantize on and off, and grid in 4/4 .

After that, if someone like to purpose suggestions to improve "how the grid 4/4 work", I hope that someone sustain my thread:
viewtopic.php?f=396&t=35727#p214500
vespadj
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 07 Sep 2015, 07:24


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby Dr185 on 05 Apr 2017, 09:14

Thanks to vespadj and rojec for your advice. This is very helpful. But what doesn't make sense is why Cross DJ worked perfectly, but after an android update the same 2 tracks are misaligned. It's a pain to adjust the bars every time. Thanks again.
Dr185
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 05:33


Re: Sync no longer works, please update app

Postby RoJeC on 05 Apr 2017, 10:05

If updates cause the problem that likely is something totally different.

The track is reanalized (causing grid to be reset) only if something changed with the track or with the mediabase of Android.

Track changes can happen if other apps write info to the track file.

Mediabase changes can happen when the track files are removed and readded as being a new track. E.g. by removing and replacing the SD card. This process is handled by Android and cannot be manipulated by Cross.
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual? In Cross open menu, select Help (available 24/7).
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/FAQ/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4232
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands



Return to Support Android




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes
 
cron