Page 1 of 5

Cue'ing with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 09 May 2011, 12:39
by makugee
So im using mixvibes Cross with cdj's (specifically cdj 1000's and 900's).

Anyway once I set a cue point up on the cdj's, every time i hit cue after this point it never returns to the "true" point of where I set the cue point at the start of the first beat. This shows on the wave form as well because it never returns to where I actually set the cue point, instead it shows slightly off the mark when i keep hitting the cue button.

Also when I use the pitch bend on the jog wheel it feels different to pitch bending normally with CD's as I am used to, is there anyway to get this original feel back?

Finally when I adjust the bpm with the pitch slider it takes a while to acknowledge that I have actually moved the slider even though i have my latency set to 1ms.

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 09 May 2011, 13:24
by Blackbrook
Are you using timecode CDs or are you using your CDJs as HID?

Cheers,

Steve

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 09 May 2011, 15:10
by makugee
Sorry should of mentioned that,

Timecode cd's.

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 09 May 2011, 15:38
by Hannes
Hi,

1:You know that cdj use stutter mode in order to cue and pause, meaning the dont stop but play a very tiny loop.
this would explain your cuepoint offset.
maybe you should try vinyl-mode on the cdjs.

2: do you have mastertempo enabled? it messes with the tc as Cross doesn´t get various pitches anymore, and therefor only reads the segment-speed but not the pitch-information.

cheers
J

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 09 May 2011, 15:42
by makugee
I'm always using vinyl mode on my cdj's and I never use master tempo either.

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 10 May 2011, 19:10
by makugee
any kind of help would be appreciated.

Is this cue offset intentional? It's kind of hard to explain,

I mean when I set it on the first beat I look at the wave form and listen to get it perfect. Then when I mash the cue button on my cdj's it goes slightly off and wont return to the exact point I originally set it at.

It's extremely frustrating because it means I have to spend more time pitch adjusting with the jog wheel then I should have to.

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 10 May 2011, 19:53
by Hannes
Stupid question: this happens when you use the cdj´s cue-function or with cues set in mixvibes?

btw: i dont know how long you´ve been djing, so i dont wanna sound like the smartass that i am, but stop looking at the waveform and use your ears. :lol:

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 10 May 2011, 20:13
by makugee
cue'ing on cdj's.

Mixvibes is my first DVS, i bought cdj 900's last year to avoid the whole laptop DJ'ing. Now that i have started to get gigs alot of the places i am playing at are still using cdj 1000's so i can't take advantage of rekordbox and using a usb stick. So I bought mixvibes about 3 weeks ago because it was a cheap as i need a DVS because none of my music was organised by CD's as I assumed most places would be using 900's/2000's by now.

So yes I can mix with my ears.

If you read the post I said i "looked at the wave form and used my ears to make sure it was pefectly on beat(which it was). PURELY Because I could not work out why my cue was not staying on beat.

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 10 May 2011, 20:22
by Hannes
Alright,

hope you didnt take any offense, we´re cool? :razz:

Anyway, when you say mashing the cue-button, how fast do go before the offset begins or is it there from the first time?

cheers
J

Re: Cue'ing and general use with cdj's in mixvibes Cross.

PostPosted: 10 May 2011, 20:28
by makugee
Yeah its all good man.

Anytime i hit the cue button after the time i intially set it. Even just pressing it once.

I mean have you used cdj's with mixvibes?

I'm not 100% sure on this but I think When I Hold down the cue button on the cdj's the software thinks I'm pressing play. When i hold then release the cue button, the timeline on the software thinks i have just paused, it doesn't actually return to the point where i set the cue UNTILL i hit it again then it returns to it but its offset from the initial cue point i set.

Does this make sense at all lol? Im trying to explain the best I can.