Page 1 of 1

Mono mode

PostPosted: 24 Jul 2014, 21:29
by Antoine_G
Is it possible to play tracks in mono mode?

If we have one speaker or one of the two speakers is broken, it can be a problem with some songs which have strong stereo effects.

Try with "Lenny Kravitz - Are you gonna go my way" where some instruments are at one side.

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 24 Jul 2014, 22:09
by FigDJ
Choose "Simple Stereo" under the audio section of preferences.

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 24 Jul 2014, 23:54
by discopex
FigDJ wrote:Choose "Simple Stereo" under the audio section of preferences.


This won't turn audio output to mono though. :twisted:

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 25 Jul 2014, 00:32
by RoJeC
Split mono does this. Just have to make sure you don't send cue.

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 25 Jul 2014, 01:52
by FigDJ
Rojec is correct. My bad , I was trying to respond witout having the system in front of me. ooops!

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 01 Aug 2014, 15:58
by Antoine_G
RoJeC wrote:Split mono does this. Just have to make sure you don't send cue.


It's not a real mono mode, isn't it?
This mode send audio of master and cue to one output (audio to one channel and cue to other).

I would like a real mono mode, transform the tracks from stereo to mono. My amplifier doesn't allow this.

I'll try to post some caps.

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 01 Aug 2014, 16:23
by FigDJ
RickH wrote:
RoJeC wrote:Split mono does this. Just have to make sure you don't send cue.


It's not a real mono mode, isn't it?
This mode send audio of master and cue to one output (audio to one channel and cue to other).

I would like a real mono mode, transform the tracks from stereo to mono. My amplifier doesn't allow this.

I'll try to post some caps.


Don't understand what you want to do.

The mode suggested by Rojec takes the left and right signals from the Master combines it and send it out in one mono output. It also takes the left and right signals from the Cue combines them and send them out in one output.

Result is one output for Master in Mono and one output for Cue in Mono.

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 01 Aug 2014, 19:44
by RoJeC
Real mono is the magic touch of a Producer in the master tracks. There is good reason that levelling left and right and combining doesn't come close to the stereo atmosphere.
So the closest to this that Cross can offer is the mentioned solution which can be finished by adding a splitter to make it dual mono.

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 11 Aug 2014, 08:28
by djdubc
i see exactly what he is saying...a switch for mono just like on a 4 channel gemini mixer; it takes the stereo imagery and bottlenecks it into 1 source

Re: Mono mode

PostPosted: 11 Aug 2014, 12:31
by DJ Vintage
RickH wrote:I would like a real mono mode, transform the tracks from stereo to mono. My amplifier doesn't allow this..

Ok. There are a few steps between Cross and your amp. What are you using to get sound from Cross to your amp? Is it a controller (if so, which one) or an external sound card?

I can imagine how, if you use a controller, you'd want mono to come out of the master out outputs and the cue remaning in stereo (or if need be mono also, but preferably not), so the signal on the L/R outputs is identical. So rather than going split mono, you'd want the L/R master output from the software to be summed and then sent as two identical signals through the regular signal path. In that case you'd not have to replug stuff when you encounter speaker failure or such?