Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

   Suggest features and improvements

Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby nillin on 17 Jun 2013, 05:30

some community members create their own MIDI controller. a very awesome feature would be there when Cross information such as title, key, bpm of the current tracks and the name of the selected tracks of libraray could get a sysex out
nillin
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 00:23
Location: Germany, Zweiflingen


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby nillin on 17 Jun 2013, 05:34

Another approach would be to provide this via osc
nillin
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 00:23
Location: Germany, Zweiflingen


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby sylMV on 17 Jun 2013, 10:03

The main issue with Text over MIDI, there's no standrad at all ! Not even a solution used by more than one manufacturer ...

I don't know a lot about OSC, but in any case, Cross is not OSC compatible so far...

However, I always love your ideas ;)
SylMV

Image
User avatar
sylMV
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: 04 Jan 2007, 09:38


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby djphaidon on 18 Jun 2013, 06:24

Would there be a way to have text out via HID protocol, similar to how the CDJ's get all their info? Could it be simulated in Max/MSP as a connection and then fed to whatever you want, or am I completely wrong in how that would work? HID has a widely used standard from what I can remember, and if the info could be extracted from there, it could be adapted to fit any manufacturers specs.

Also, now that I think about it, the HID info that gets sent to CDJs (nexus) also has beat information, similar to the info you are looking for in downbeat and MIDI clock.
Image

MixVibes Cross 2.6.0
A&H Xone:DB4 / A&H Xone:K2 / QuNeo / iPad Lemur
15' MacBook Pro / 16Gb RAM

Retired: Jazzmutant Lemur / Korg padKontrol / Korg Zero 4 / VCI 100 / APC40 / NI S4 / Traktor

Image
Image
User avatar
djphaidon
 
Posts: 423
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 05:17
Location: Reno, NV


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby nillin on 18 Jun 2013, 08:06

I dont think max can emulate a hid device
Hid works on a other layer, you need a real Hardware device to so hid.
The Best way to get the Text to max is OSC this works on the udp Network layer.
nillin
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 00:23
Location: Germany, Zweiflingen


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby djphaidon on 18 Jun 2013, 08:24

Ok, so I had it backwards then. HID can be received by max, but not emulated. I knew it would have been too good to be true. :evil:
Image

MixVibes Cross 2.6.0
A&H Xone:DB4 / A&H Xone:K2 / QuNeo / iPad Lemur
15' MacBook Pro / 16Gb RAM

Retired: Jazzmutant Lemur / Korg padKontrol / Korg Zero 4 / VCI 100 / APC40 / NI S4 / Traktor

Image
Image
User avatar
djphaidon
 
Posts: 423
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 05:17
Location: Reno, NV


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby UncleVibes on 18 Jun 2013, 09:16

And osc not compatible with Cross as said sylmv
User avatar
UncleVibes
 
Posts: 10254
Joined: 22 Sep 2003, 13:36


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby nillin on 18 Jun 2013, 10:41

UncleVibes wrote:And osc not compatible with Cross as said sylmv

technical Not compatible or just Not on todo?

How ar your Controller app communicate with Cross? :)
nillin
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 00:23
Location: Germany, Zweiflingen


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby djphaidon on 19 Jun 2013, 05:38

That could be the ticket. Make a simulated host that acts like the remote to Cross, but can use the info in the ways that are needed. It's a very low latency protocol however they are doing it, cause the remote versions work wonderfully. Even better if it doesn't have to Cross wireless to pass information.
Image

MixVibes Cross 2.6.0
A&H Xone:DB4 / A&H Xone:K2 / QuNeo / iPad Lemur
15' MacBook Pro / 16Gb RAM

Retired: Jazzmutant Lemur / Korg padKontrol / Korg Zero 4 / VCI 100 / APC40 / NI S4 / Traktor

Image
Image
User avatar
djphaidon
 
Posts: 423
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 05:17
Location: Reno, NV


Re: Sysex MIDI OUT for Text

Postby nillin on 19 Jun 2013, 07:53

djphaidon wrote:That could be the ticket. Make a simulated host that acts like the remote to Cross, but can use the info in the ways that are needed. It's a very low latency protocol however they are doing it, cause the remote versions work wonderfully. Even better if it doesn't have to Cross wireless to pass information.


But i dont think mixvibes is very happy if i reverse engeneer there protocol :)
nillin
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 00:23
Location: Germany, Zweiflingen


Next

Return to Suggestions




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes