Special Locators

   Suggest features and improvements

Special Locators

Postby BennyB on 10 Apr 2012, 22:55

I was thinking about editing tracks live on set.

So it would be nice to have some special locators, to mark different places in a track, to automaticly jump to parts or skip some.

I mean you place a locator at a point in a track and you place it's pair at an another point, and when played, when it reaches the first locator it jumps to it's pair by this skipping the parts between these too.
Or it can be used to jump back in the track when raching a certain locator.

This can be also saved with track info.

Would be nice to use, so DJ-s can prepare and pre-edit track before set and they can edit live, so the track will fit to the needs of the DJ, so if the DJ is not that virtuous, he can mess up with the track without triggering hot-cues.

In absolute mode it can be possible to use, but a little difficult. Maybe Cross can be forced to calculate track time positioning with these locators used, so it will recalculate track lenght counting in lenght lost by skipping parts or lenght gained by repeating one.
Image
April 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month

aka. Ben

"...Music Is The Answer To The Problems..."

FOUNDER OF:
:cool: c00l People MV Society :cool:
!!!Sampler Fi!!!
Helping MIXVIBES FORUM being an awsome place
since 2011!

MixVibes People!!! UNITE!!!
User avatar
BennyB
 
Posts: 836
Joined: 14 Apr 2011, 21:54
Location: Hungary


Re: Special Locators

Postby Blackbrook on 11 Apr 2012, 09:02

Great idea! I like playing with loops to build a "new" track too. Till now I was using the locators and did it manually :) Will be looking forward what teh dev team might say.
Viele Grüße,
Cheers,
A plus,
Steve

Image
Winner Mixvibes 10 years DJ contest 2009


Blackbrook
 
Posts: 4417
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 13:33


Re: Special Locators

Postby daniel clark on 11 Apr 2012, 09:11

:cool: :cool:
Offtopic.HorsSujet!
slightly,, can cue points(locators) be set up as loops,have tried but unable to see how to accomplish this,,and is there the ability to have more than one loop in a track (meaning saved to use :?:

:cool: :cool:
Image
Image
January 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month
MEMBER OF:
:cool: C00l People MV Society :cool:

PLEASE REGISTER YOUR SOFTWARE...FORUM RULES
2014 dell XPS8700
intel core i5 4400@3.10ghz
12 gigs DDR3 ram
NVDIA GeForce GT635
Win 10 /64 bits OS
Realteck 7.1
Home USB sound dogle
Asus VE247H monitor
Logitec G-15 ser 1 gaming keyboard
U-Mix Control Pro 2
User avatar
daniel clark
 
Posts: 6851
Joined: 31 Oct 2008, 00:01
Location: Charleston,S C


Re: Special Locators

Postby sylMV on 11 Apr 2012, 09:41

Offtopic.HorsSujet!
daniel clark wrote:slightly,, can cue points(locators) be set up as loops,have tried but unable to see how to accomplish this,,and is there the ability to have more than one loop in a track (meaning saved to use :?:
:cool: :cool:


In Cross 2.0 mate ;)
SylMV

Image
User avatar
sylMV
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: 04 Jan 2007, 09:38


Re: Special Locators

Postby daniel clark on 11 Apr 2012, 09:43

:biggrin: W O W :!: :?: cant wait :!: :!:
Image
Image
January 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month
MEMBER OF:
:cool: C00l People MV Society :cool:

PLEASE REGISTER YOUR SOFTWARE...FORUM RULES
2014 dell XPS8700
intel core i5 4400@3.10ghz
12 gigs DDR3 ram
NVDIA GeForce GT635
Win 10 /64 bits OS
Realteck 7.1
Home USB sound dogle
Asus VE247H monitor
Logitec G-15 ser 1 gaming keyboard
U-Mix Control Pro 2
User avatar
daniel clark
 
Posts: 6851
Joined: 31 Oct 2008, 00:01
Location: Charleston,S C


Re: Special Locators

Postby Hannes on 11 Apr 2012, 22:03

you van use a locator as a loop already, just count.
June 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month

https://soundcloud.com/han-nes-10/fridaybeatdown2ndedition
no support by pm

beta troll

Macbook Pro 13, late 2011, 6GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500
Thudrumble TR-1S, Vestax VFX-1, ESI Maya USB+, Rane SL2
User avatar
Hannes
 
Posts: 4168
Joined: 07 Dec 2010, 01:57
Location: Vienna


Re: Special Locators

Postby dj_cross_fade on 12 Apr 2012, 02:14

i like it :D
i stream my mixes and Gameplay at http://www.hitbox.tv/MediaHeadzTv
at Hitbox.tv you get no copy right strikes and im working on making a DJ community there
User avatar
dj_cross_fade
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: 25 May 2008, 21:57
Location: usa, ca, sunnyvale


Re: Special Locators

Postby Support@MixVibes on 12 Apr 2012, 09:54

With the snap, you can also be a virtuose into "locators/loops jump". :mrgreen:
User avatar
Support@MixVibes
 


Re: Special Locators

Postby Blackbrook on 12 Apr 2012, 10:12

Support@MixVibes wrote:With the snap, you can also be a virtuose into "locators/loops jump". :mrgreen:


Great hint! Did not think about that! Thanks!
Viele Grüße,
Cheers,
A plus,
Steve

Image
Winner Mixvibes 10 years DJ contest 2009


Blackbrook
 
Posts: 4417
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 13:33


Re: Special Locators

Postby KevMaverick on 13 Apr 2012, 10:49

Way too complicated for me to do live, but a great thing to try at home! :D

(I like to keep it simple at live gigs - too much can go wrong! :eek: )
Summer is here! Only 4 things we need - cold beer, hot ladies, loud music, and more cold beer!


Image
March 2012 Mixvibes DJ of the month

HP Pavilion dv6
2.5 GHz Intel Core i5-2450M
6 GB DDR3 ram
750Gb sata hd
Dual graphics Intel & Radeon
Beats Audio sound system
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

MEMBER OF:
:cool: c00l People MV Society :cool:
User avatar
KevMaverick
 
Posts: 778
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 03:12
Location: Solihull, UK


Next

Return to Suggestions




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes