putting a loaded track "on hold"

   Suggest features and improvements

putting a loaded track "on hold"

Postby djeksotik on 03 Oct 2011, 19:07

Sometimes there is a situation where I need to load something in one player but later return to what I was doing before that. For example in a party theres some dance act and you as the DJ need to play their backing track, but you want to continue where you left off , just for example you had a very dope transition coming up and you dont want to skip it.

This is a rare situation to be honest, but it would be cool if there was a slot where you can drop the loaded track, and later drop it back and it would have the exact settings as when you dropped it in the "on hold" slot, including and most importantly position.

But a more frequent situation is the one where i want to lay some cuts on a playing track, I would have to search the skratch-sounds track and load it, and then after the few skratches load the next track. But would be nice if I can drop the skratch track with the right position on a moments notice, I would then keep it in the "on hold" slot so when I want to do 5 seconds of skratching I can do it faster withour interrupting the workflow. The track that is dropped there would remain there until replaced by another track.

Right now I switch the needed player to bypass and use real vinyl, as that is quicker than searching for the right spot after loading the skratch-track(6 cue doesnt cut it when you have a 100 sounds for example)

This is maybe not needed if your set is totally prepared, but would be handy when spontaneous ideas and stuff come to mind.
It would also reduce the need for 4 decks maybe (personally I couldnt care less for 4 decks)
User avatar
djeksotik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 09 Apr 2010, 20:14
Location: Tallinn, Estonia


Re: putting a loaded track "on hold"

Postby djeksotik on 12 Oct 2011, 17:02

Ok, I get it, Word censored (guess you find it I love walking on it) idea, no need for applause :D

Guess I have too specific wishes. No big deal, really, it's something I can live without, but would be cool.
User avatar
djeksotik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 09 Apr 2010, 20:14
Location: Tallinn, Estonia


Re: putting a loaded track "on hold"

Postby Blackbrook on 12 Oct 2011, 19:32

No reply does not mean that is not on the list nor that the team is interested in ;)
Viele Grüße,
Cheers,
A plus,
Steve

Image
Winner Mixvibes 10 years DJ contest 2009


Blackbrook
 
Posts: 4417
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 13:33


Re: putting a loaded track "on hold"

Postby djeksotik on 16 Oct 2011, 11:19

:D
Yeah I know, I wasn't trying to be dramatic, but to maybe get an opinion, even if not from someone from the team. It's all good though, peace.

(PS. I am still dreaming of the vinyl with the long stripe over it)
User avatar
djeksotik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 09 Apr 2010, 20:14
Location: Tallinn, Estonia



Return to Suggestions




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes