Page 1 of 1

usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 29 Sep 2016, 12:37
by carretto
Hi, is it possible to control Cross DJ with a usb/MIDI controller keyboard. As musician I have a MIDI keyboard connected via usb port to the Mac Can I use it to control mix slides and buttons ?

Thank you.

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 29 Sep 2016, 13:03
by RoJeC
Yes you can use a keyboard to control, as well as multiple MIDI devices in parallel.

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 29 Sep 2016, 14:53
by Team@Mixvibes
Hello Carretto, let us know if this works and which MIDI controller keyboard you are talking about!

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 29 Sep 2016, 15:43
by carretto
Hi, I need to know where can I find a mapping between MIDI commands and Cross DJ commands.
I mean how can I send "play" via MIDI, which command or note on ?

Carlo

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 30 Sep 2016, 01:40
by RoJeC
In Cross you find a MIDI mapping tool for this.

E.g. Select 'play' in a new MIDI map, press the key, done.

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 30 Nov 2016, 19:04
by DJ Austin
I'm use MIDI keyboard and novation dicer together. This works

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 09 Jan 2017, 10:18
by Activated Soundwave
The mapping is really quite simple for the keyboard using the mapping tool in preferences, I have used a small keyboard in past for the sampler section and triggering as well as sample roll(sample Loop brace) up and down, a few creative ways to make it your own. I am not sure about any pad colour if you have suitable pads, but basic mapping will be fine and up to your creative mind. Have some fun with it :)

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 06 Mar 2017, 15:03
by Kgabo Sephesu
I can't seem to use my MIDI controller, it shows that its online but appears to be locked. What could be the problem?

Re: usb MIDI keyboard controller

PostPosted: 06 Mar 2017, 15:15
by FigDJ
Kgabo Sephesu wrote:I can't seem to use my MIDI controller, it shows that its online but appears to be locked. What could be the problem?


I f you post a screen that would help to find out what is going on.

However, based on your description it seems that Cross is recognizing the keyboard. If the keyboard was listed before then you need to duplicate the mapping in order to modify he copy to what you want. This is done with the little + sign once you selected the correct controller.

If your keyboard was not listed then there is no mapping file for it. In this case you can create a new one and start mapping right away.