[Tip] Missing MIDI device

   Post your tips and tutorials here

[Tip] Missing MIDI device

Postby Marxon on 27 Feb 2014, 20:52

Hi all!

I know this does not affect many user but
maybe its helpful for someone.
If you have a lot of MIDI devices installed on your system or
if using many virtual MIDI ports like MidiYoke or loopMidi,
you may noticed that Cross only shows 8 devices in the MIDI settings and it could happen that your desired one is not listed.
If this happens you can add it manually in the Mixvibes settings file.
It is located under:
C:\Users\"your Username"\AppData\Roaming\MixVibes\MixVibes.settings

Open this file with a texteditor and search the string "midiControllerMapping"
You should find eight entries.
Now choose one which uses a MIDI device you dont want to use in Cross and replace the device name with the one you want to use.
Be sure you use the exact name like your device is shown
in other software. For example my device is called "Crossbox"
Unbenannt.JPG


So i changed
Code: Select all
  <VALUE name="midiControllerMapping0" val="in:Automap MIDI out:Automap MIDI useIn:1 useOut:1 forced:0 controllerId:14300270"/>

to
Code: Select all
  <VALUE name="midiControllerMapping0" val="in:Crossbox out:Crossbox useIn:1 useOut:1 forced:0 controllerId:14300270"/>


After saving the settings file and starting Cross
your MIDI device should be now available.

Best regards
Marxon
Image
MEMBER OF:

:cool: People MV Society :cool:

FLAC Tag minority

---------------------------------------
Cross 3.0 / Producer 7.5 / Cross Remote App
Korg Zero 8, Kaoss Pad 3
Alesis AirFX
Roland SP303
Novation Remote SL 49 MK2
iPad 4
---------------
Midibox SEQUENCER V4
http://midibox.org/forums/gallery/album/164-marxon%C2%B4s-seq-v4/
Midibox SID V2 Synth
User avatar
Marxon
 
Posts: 787
Joined: 02 Nov 2007, 13:30
Location: Germany / Plauen (Vogtl.)


Re: [Tip] Missing MIDI device

Postby sylMV on 28 Feb 2014, 11:18

Settings file hacker :mrgreen:

Probably useful tip though ;)

Despite we should probably better handle this case...
SylMV

Image
User avatar
sylMV
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: 04 Jan 2007, 09:38


Re: [Tip] Missing MIDI device

Postby Marxon on 28 Feb 2014, 13:13

sylMV wrote:Settings file hacker :mrgreen:

Probably useful tip though ;)

Despite we should probably better handle this case...


There are also some other usefull options in the settings file :cool:

Would be nice if you fix this MIDI issue, i reported it
allready 1,5 years ago :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
viewtopic.php?f=358&t=25297&p=159372&hilit=MIDI+device#p158866
And one year later again
viewtopic.php?f=424&t=29504&p=181794&hilit=missing+MIDI+device#p181778

Best regards
Marxon
Image
MEMBER OF:

:cool: People MV Society :cool:

FLAC Tag minority

---------------------------------------
Cross 3.0 / Producer 7.5 / Cross Remote App
Korg Zero 8, Kaoss Pad 3
Alesis AirFX
Roland SP303
Novation Remote SL 49 MK2
iPad 4
---------------
Midibox SEQUENCER V4
http://midibox.org/forums/gallery/album/164-marxon%C2%B4s-seq-v4/
Midibox SID V2 Synth
User avatar
Marxon
 
Posts: 787
Joined: 02 Nov 2007, 13:30
Location: Germany / Plauen (Vogtl.)



Return to Tips & Tutorials




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes