Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

   Post your tips and tutorials here

Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby MattSatt on 31 Oct 2012, 02:41

I'm a proud Cross user, first off. I just purchased the Novation Dicer(s). The preset mapping is appreciated; however, I was really excited about the layout the Dicers were designed for (Cue Points, Loop-Roll, and Loop). I know that you can custom map any button on any MIDI, but I was hoping that someone had already built a map around the original Dicer intent (not Track browsing and loading). Am I in luck? Thanks for the continued service!
User avatar
MattSatt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Dec 2010, 01:25


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Marxon on 31 Oct 2012, 10:42

Hi MattSatt,

i dont have much time these days so i can give you just a little guide to set and clear one Locator (Cue Point) in Cross with your Dicer:
- enable the Cue Mode (looks like a Play Button) on your Dicer
- open Cross MIDI settings and duplicate the default Dicer Mapping (via "x2" Button) to make your custom one
- expand the "Player 1" tree and klick the "+" next to "Locator 1 Control" to add some MIDI command
- now hit Button 1 from your Dicer´s five Main Buttons -> Cross shoudt detect it. Klick OK.
- then hold down to the Dicer´s Cue Mode Button for a while to enable the Shift-lock Mode
- in Cross klick "+" next to "Locator 1 clear" and hit Button 1 on your Dicer again.

Hope this helps you a little bit making your customized Mapping.
Best regards
Marxon
Image
MEMBER OF:

:cool: People MV Society :cool:

FLAC Tag minority

---------------------------------------
Cross 3.0 / Producer 7.5 / Cross Remote App
Korg Zero 8, Kaoss Pad 3
Alesis AirFX
Roland SP303
Novation Remote SL 49 MK2
iPad 4
---------------
Midibox SEQUENCER V4
http://midibox.org/forums/gallery/album/164-marxon%C2%B4s-seq-v4/
Midibox SID V2 Synth
User avatar
Marxon
 
Posts: 787
Joined: 02 Nov 2007, 13:30
Location: Germany / Plauen (Vogtl.)


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Support@MixVibes on 31 Oct 2012, 11:22

I don't understand.
There are 3 layers on the dicer :
- browse
- locators
- loops
so what's wrong with it ?
edit : simply don't use the 1st one
User avatar
Support@MixVibes
 


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Faizel M on 31 Oct 2012, 12:29

Hi Mattsatt.

I might be able to help you. My mapping allows you to browse,loa

d, loop, without touching your laptop. I will only be able to forward the mapping to much later today. Please be patient.

Can you give an idea of your hardware setup.

Faizel M
Faizel M
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 20 Feb 2011, 08:38


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby MattSatt on 31 Oct 2012, 13:30

So what I was hoping is this:

Layer One "Red" would be mapped to Locators
Layer Two "Green" would be mapped to Roll Effect (Incrementally)
Layer Three "Yellow would be mapped to Loop (as it is already)

Again, I appreciate the preset mapping as the browsing controls are nice; however, I would just prefer the mapping that Novation has advertised: Locators, Loop-Rolls, Loops. Thanks.
User avatar
MattSatt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Dec 2010, 01:25


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Support@MixVibes on 31 Oct 2012, 14:31

Advertised ? yeah, but for what software ?
User avatar
Support@MixVibes
 


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Faizel M on 31 Oct 2012, 15:14

I am a bit confused. :(

Faizel M
Faizel M
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 20 Feb 2011, 08:38


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Support@MixVibes on 31 Oct 2012, 15:24

Novation advertised the unit with Serato.
There is no specific layout printed on the device and it is a basic MIDI controler so you can put what you want where you want.

So what is the need to follow the behavior advertised for an other software ? As both software don't have the same features or if they have they doesn't work the same way.
User avatar
Support@MixVibes
 


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Jasty on 18 Nov 2012, 14:50

Hey,

so you cant set first function on locators, I am confused?
I can do this manualy right?
Thanks in advance
User avatar
Jasty
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 12 Jan 2012, 11:23


Re: Novation Dicer Mapping (Original Map)

Postby Marxon on 18 Nov 2012, 16:49

Hi Jasty,

if you had read the whole topic you woud know how to do this :mrgreen:

Best regards
Marxon

Marxon wrote:Hi MattSatt,
i dont have much time these days so i can give you just a little guide to set and clear one Locator (Cue Point) in Cross with your Dicer:
- enable the Cue Mode (looks like a Play Button) on your Dicer
- open Cross MIDI settings and duplicate the default Dicer Mapping (via "x2" Button) to make your custom one
- expand the "Player 1" tree and klick the "+" next to "Locator 1 Control" to add some MIDI command
- now hit Button 1 from your Dicer´s five Main Buttons -> Cross shoudt detect it. Klick OK.
- then hold down to the Dicer´s Cue Mode Button for a while to enable the Shift-lock Mode
- in Cross klick "+" next to "Locator 1 clear" and hit Button 1 on your Dicer again.

Hope this helps you a little bit making your customized Mapping.
Best regards
Marxon
Image
MEMBER OF:

:cool: People MV Society :cool:

FLAC Tag minority

---------------------------------------
Cross 3.0 / Producer 7.5 / Cross Remote App
Korg Zero 8, Kaoss Pad 3
Alesis AirFX
Roland SP303
Novation Remote SL 49 MK2
iPad 4
---------------
Midibox SEQUENCER V4
http://midibox.org/forums/gallery/album/164-marxon%C2%B4s-seq-v4/
Midibox SID V2 Synth
User avatar
Marxon
 
Posts: 787
Joined: 02 Nov 2007, 13:30
Location: Germany / Plauen (Vogtl.)


Next

Return to Tips & Tutorials




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes
 
cron