[Tutorial] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

   Post your tips and tutorials here

[Tutorial] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby ko1N on 15 Nov 2008, 16:55

Hello guys!
I've played around a bit with several ways to route MixVibes outputs into Ableton Live to make use of the advanced effects in Live.

So here is a little quickstart guide on how to set everything up:

1. Download JackDmp (or now Jack 1.90) from this site: http://www.grame.fr/~letz/jackdmp.html
and install it on your system. In my case i had to reboot my computer before everything worked well.

2. Go to Start -> Programs -> Jack v1.90 and start "Jack Command" to access the command prompt.

3. To get a list of available audio devices type
Code: Select all
jackd -R -S -d portaudio -l

In my case it looks kinda like this:
Image

4. To start the jackdmp server with a selected sound card you need to start jackd with the following parameters
Code: Select all
jackd -R -S -d portaudio -d "DRIVER NAME" -p <SAMPLES>

So in my case I wrote a simple bat file to start the server. The file looks like this:
Code: Select all
@echo off
cd C:\Programme\Jack v1.90
jackd -R -S -d portaudio -d "ASIO::MIXVIBES U46MK2 ASIO" -p 192


5. Start the bat (or the server with the parameters) from above.
Now you may open up MixVibes and Ableton Live.
You need to set them up in the following way:
Image
Image

6. Now you need to setup Live to get the Audio routing correctly:
Image

7. Now the only thing you have to do is route the cables in JackDmp
corresponding to your software. Go to Start -> Programs -> Jack v1.90 and start "Jack Control". Click on "Connect" and setup the following dialog as follows:
Image

In my case I loaded the Triggerfinger in both, MixVibes and Ableton Live so I could control loops and effects with the velocity sensitive pads. Have fun playing around with this technique! :)

Best regards, Patrick.

P.S.: I've edited this post as I recently found out how this works! Thanks to BentoSan from djtechtools.com
Last edited by ko1N on 16 Nov 2008, 19:58, edited 2 times in total.
ko1N
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 22 Mar 2008, 14:34
Location: Germany


Re: Has anyone tried smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton?!

Postby compact on 15 Nov 2008, 17:13

hast du lust das nochmal im deutschen forum zu posten....bin auf die antworten gespannt :)

ein tutorial über das thema gibt es hier:

viewtopic.php?f=207&t=10952

danke für DEIN tutorial!!!

thanks.


mello-d.
Last edited by compact on 17 Nov 2008, 10:45, edited 1 time in total.
compact
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: 20 May 2008, 17:44


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby wazza on 17 Nov 2008, 07:48

thank you Ko1N....here is some Kamma
MEMBER OF:
:cool: c00l People MV Society :cool:
User avatar
wazza
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 15 May 2005, 08:08
Location: Gold Coast .....OZ


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby phadedvision on 17 Nov 2008, 07:51

:idea: :eek:

NICE!! Here's some karma for you!
User avatar
phadedvision
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: 11 Dec 2007, 00:25


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby ko1N on 18 Nov 2008, 15:37

No problem. I may upload somekind of mix with this when I'm back home. Is anyone interested in the project templates or MIDI mappings?
ko1N
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 22 Mar 2008, 14:34
Location: Germany


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby phadedvision on 18 Nov 2008, 18:57

You can count me in on the templates and maps ;)
User avatar
phadedvision
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: 11 Dec 2007, 00:25


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby abitmessie on 20 Nov 2008, 04:16

awesome you can count me in on that one too
thanks for the tips been trying to work that part of the equasion for some time!!!
Producer 7.4, DVS 7.4, Cross 1.3.2,
M-Audio Quattro, U46mk2, Evolution UC33, LaunchPad Technics 1200sl Mk2 , Rane Empath, DDM4000
Windows 7 (Abits Build v2)

Image
User avatar
abitmessie
 
Posts: 527
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 12:00
Location: Melbourne Australia


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby ko1N on 21 Nov 2008, 14:17

Here's the Ableton preset without any effects or other things for now.
You can add in effects and change the MIDI mappings as usual. I'll upload my Triggerfinger config as far as I'm finished with it ;-)

http://rapidshare.com/files/165950654/mixvibes_ableton_nomidi.zip.html

Best regards, Patrick.
ko1N
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 22 Mar 2008, 14:34
Location: Germany


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby Patch on 21 Nov 2008, 16:49

I already route the output of Mixvibes into Ableton the old fashioned way, ie - using cables from my DJ mixer. Does this do anything that I cannot already using cables and audio routing?
Pentium 4HT Laptop, 1Gb Ram, XP Pro, Mixvibes DVS, Ableton Live, UC-33e, Rolls MP80 Pedal, SP-202, DM2, DJM 600s, 2xTechnics 1200s, Vestax PMC 07 ProD, Motu Ultralite, U46DJ.
Patch
 
Posts: 234
Joined: 23 Nov 2006, 19:39
Location: Bristol, UK


Re: [TUT] Smartmixing MixVibes into Ableton Live

Postby polocorp on 21 Nov 2008, 18:49

thanks for sharing ko1n. I really need to make some time to look into working with both of my favorite softwares at the time :mrgreen:
MixVibes PRO DJ TEAM

MixVibes Cross 2
MacBook PRO
CDJ-2000
DJM-800

http://polocorp.blogspot.com
http://Facebook.com/polocorp.music
User avatar
polocorp
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 04 Sep 2006, 16:29
Location: Paris


Next

Return to Tips & Tutorials




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes