Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

   Report the issues you noticed while using MixVibes
Forum rules
Users with Cross DJ Mac bought in the App Store please join group User Cross DJ App Store to write in the support forum ucp.php?i=172

Other users must follow these rules.:
* Register your software (User Control Panel > Profile > Serial Number)
* Go to the download center and install the latest versions of software and drivers
* Use the search tool to look into topics
* Check the FAQs to be sure your problem hasn't been solved already
* Write in concise and precise ENGLISH Thank you.

Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby Joe Brazor on 06 Nov 2019, 19:53

Hello, I am new to Cross DJ 4 and I am thinking about switching to Cross DJ 4 as my major DJ software, however, before buying the full version, I need to know if this software allows me to pre cue effects.

In a thread here on the mixvibes-forum from 2013 by the user "johnnie bransco" MixVibes support team said that: "There is no cueing for the effect section in to Cross. So you cannot pre-listen them."
(see: viewtopic.php?f=358&t=27944&p=175098&hilit=pre+cueing+effects#p175098)

Has anything changed regarding this function in Cross DJ 4 since then? Or is there any way to make pre cueing effects in Cross DJ 4 possible (maybe a workaorund solution)?

Best regards ;-)
Joe Brazor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Sep 2012, 16:40


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby RoJeC on 07 Nov 2019, 00:14

You best try the demo version to check if the way you intend to use it is available.

For sure it will make it harder to keep track of your live sound when to much wet comes to your ears.
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual? In Cross open menu, select Help (available 24/7).
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/help/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4726
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby Joe Brazor on 08 Nov 2019, 16:33

RoJeC wrote:You best try the demo version to check if the way you intend to use it is available.

For sure it will make it harder to keep track of your live sound when to much wet comes to your ears.


Thanks for your reply. I am actually already using the Demo, but it doesn't seem to work. So I do need to know if I am just overlooking something or if this function is not part of Cross DJ 4.

I can do this without any problems on Traktor Pro 3, using the same hardware (a Pioneer DDJ-SB2).
Here is a screenshot of my audio routing (if useful):
https://ibb.co/2tTmGKJ
Joe Brazor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Sep 2012, 16:40


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby Joe Brazor on 11 Nov 2019, 18:57

So, can anybody help me with this problem or tell me whether pre-cueing of effects is possible or not in MixVibes Cross DJ 4?

Thanks in advance!
Joe Brazor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Sep 2012, 16:40


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby RoJeC on 11 Nov 2019, 22:03

Did some testing with 3 and 4. Couldn't find to add FX to the precueing.

So don't think is exists, other than setting the EQ's.

Also don't think it was ever asked for, so likely not on the todo list either.

Maybe if you could explain somewhat on your intended use it might help others in considering to suport this feature.
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual? In Cross open menu, select Help (available 24/7).
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/help/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4726
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby Joe Brazor on 17 Nov 2019, 14:15

Thanks for your reply. That's really a pity as this feature is crucial for me!

I would use this feature to check if one or especially a group of effects would sound good on an incoming track, but I would also use it for testing effects on a master track by doubling the master track.

Often, especially when using new effects or more effects together I am not 100% sure how they will sound when applied to my current playing track(s). So this feature would allow me to test effect combinations on the fly, avoiding thereby effect usages that don't fit well or effects overuse.

I don't think I am the only user that is interested in such a feature, because I found similar requests also in other DJ software forums. See:

I also wanted to add that I just tested pre-listening of effects on the demo version of djay pro (Windows version) and it worked perfectly...

So, I really hope this feature will get included in future version of Cross DJ as for the rest I still think it's a great DJ software!

Best regards ;-)
Joe Brazor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Sep 2012, 16:40


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby RoJeC on 17 Nov 2019, 14:59

DJ Pro only supports audio. Cross also video. Adding FX to PFL in video would mean that you need very high end equipment to be able to run this.

Conditional splitting features for audio and video likely is not wanted.

Guess this expalins why it is asked for but not present in most DJ (/VJ) software. Also DJ mixers afaik only use 1 FX channel. Only audio mixers with multiple subs can have multiple FX channels, but mostly send/return is used for additional FX options.
Ronald

Image

downloads + more forums = Register license(ucp.php?i=169)
Apple store new user? first read viewtopic.php?f=259&t=34199
Manual? In Cross open menu, select Help (available 24/7).
Audio dropouts? Increase audio 'buffer size' value.
FAQ iOS / Android / PC / MAC http://www.mixvibes.com/help/
Soundcard not available/working? Try the 32bit version of Cross (is also installed).
RoJeC
 
Posts: 4726
Joined: 20 May 2011, 07:55
Location: Bussum, Netherlands


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby Joe Brazor on 22 Nov 2019, 21:34

RoJeC wrote:DJ Pro only supports audio. Cross also video. Adding FX to PFL in video would mean that you need very high end equipment to be able to run this.

Conditional splitting features for audio and video likely is not wanted.

Guess this expalins why it is asked for but not present in most DJ (/VJ) software. Also DJ mixers afaik only use 1 FX channel. Only audio mixers with multiple subs can have multiple FX channels, but mostly send/return is used for additional FX options.


OK, got you, nevertheless I really think this feature would be nice to have. For me it's a must, so unfortunately I think I will stay with Traktor Pro for now. Thanks for your help!
Joe Brazor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Sep 2012, 16:40


Re: Effects Pre-cueing in Cross DJ 4 possible?

Postby Joe Brazor on 22 Nov 2019, 21:35

RoJeC wrote:DJ Pro only supports audio. Cross also video. Adding FX to PFL in video would mean that you need very high end equipment to be able to run this.

Conditional splitting features for audio and video likely is not wanted.

Guess this expalins why it is asked for but not present in most DJ (/VJ) software. Also DJ mixers afaik only use 1 FX channel. Only audio mixers with multiple subs can have multiple FX channels, but mostly send/return is used for additional FX options.


OK, got you, nevertheless I really think this feature would be nice to have. For me it's a must, so unfortunately I think I will stay with Traktor Pro for now. Thanks for your help!
Joe Brazor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Sep 2012, 16:40



Return to Technical Support




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes
 
cron