Ableton Link Sync not on 1st beat of the bar

   Report the issues you noticed while using MixVibes
Forum rules
Users with Cross DJ Mac bought in the App Store please join group User Cross DJ App Store to write in the support forum ucp.php?i=172

Other users must follow these rules.:
* Register your software (User Control Panel > Profile > Serial Number)
* Go to the download center and install the latest versions of software and drivers
* Use the search tool to look into topics
* Check the FAQs to be sure your problem hasn't been solved already
* Write in concise and precise ENGLISH Thank you.

Ableton Link Sync not on 1st beat of the bar

Postby Beaker on 17 Apr 2018, 20:20

Hey,

I just purchased and downloaded Cross DJ for mac. I want to use with Ableton Link in LIVE (v10) and when I fire a loop in Ableton, it's always on the second on third beat of the bar.

Any tips on how I can correct this, I also own Traktor and don't seem to have this issue.

I'm assuming i've overlooked something?
Beaker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Apr 2018, 20:14


Re: Ableton Link Sync not on 1st beat of the bar

Postby Team@Mixvibes on 21 Apr 2018, 18:14

Hi Beaker,

Thanks for reaching out to us here at Mixvibes!

Unfortunately right now I believe that Ableton Link functionality in Cross DJ is not as functional as it should be, since it has not been updated since it was originally added.

I will test things out today to see if I can come up with a solution, but it might be the way that Ableton Link works in Cross DJ that is causing the problem.

I have brought this up with the team recently, to see if we can fix this and expand it's functionality, and will keep everyone updated if I hear back.

Adam @Mixvibes
Commercial related requests: please reach out to support@mixvibes.com
[center]Post directly your support requests on the forum.
Thank You!
Team@MixVibes gives no support by PM[/b]
User avatar
Team@Mixvibes
 
Posts: 659
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 11:51


Re: Ableton Link Sync not on 1st beat of the bar

Postby Beaker on 22 Apr 2018, 12:24

Hi Adam,

Thanks for getting back to me. While I appreciate the reply, i'm a little concerned that your website is promoting Ableton Link as one of the main features in Cross DJ for Mac, yet it's not functioning correctly. This feature was/is one of the top reasons I chose your product, as I could have simply went to one of the big 3 knowing that LINK works with them (as many of my friends own Traktor).

Can you provide any sort of timeline for when this might be resolved? This will help me decide if I should seek a refund or not.

Thanks for the info and your help.

B.
Beaker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Apr 2018, 20:14


Re: Ableton Link Sync not on 1st beat of the bar

Postby Team@Mixvibes on 22 Apr 2018, 17:04

Hi again Beaker,

I definitely understand your concern, and most likely the issue stems from updates to Ableton Link after it was added to Cross DJ (I believe Ableton Link is on version 3 now and most recently added Start Stop Sync in Ableton 10).

Have you tried changing the Start Stop Sync setting in Live 10? I couldn't replicate your issue in Ableton 9.7.6, my loops always started on their first beat when launched, but my version does no have the Start Stop Sync setting.

From Ableton: "In Live 10 the feature "Start Stop Sync" shares Transport Start and Stop Commands between all Link peers that have the feature enabled.

It can be enabled, either in the preferences, or by alt clicking the Link button in the main UI. When Start Stop Sync is enabled the Link button will have a different colour than usual. The behaviour of Live being started or stopped remotely is the same, as if the command was triggered locally within a Link Jam: Live will start according to its local beat time, quantisation, and start marker position"

Or do you mean that the loops start on the second or third beat of the music coming from Cross DJ? I was able to have this happen and had to play with my quantize settings to get the loops to launch on time.

Since I am only the weekend support, I can't say for sure if or when this will be fixed so if you do decide to go for a refund please reach out to us at support@mixvibes.com

All the best,
Adam @Mixvibes
Commercial related requests: please reach out to support@mixvibes.com
[center]Post directly your support requests on the forum.
Thank You!
Team@MixVibes gives no support by PM[/b]
User avatar
Team@Mixvibes
 
Posts: 659
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 11:51



Return to Technical Support




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests

 
 
   
 
© 2014 Mixvibes