Phono/Line & Feedback/Damping issues on turntables - advice

Talk about gear, music, shows or anything you'd like.
Forum rules
Click here to join Mixvibes on DISCORD https://discord.gg/gMdQJ2cJqa

Phono/Line & Feedback/Damping issues on turntables - advice

Postby Minos Kritikos on 01 Sep 2014, 02:24

Hello good people of the mixvibes community, I would like to share with you some advice if you are looking to buy turntables.

I've been a pro vinyl DJ for about 15 years now and I own two technics mk5 back home in another country and was in the market to buy new turntables for (DVS and just plain old vinyl mixing), not technics as there are viable alternatives out there for less money and I don't want to risk shipping mine here.

Scouting the internet, I made a list of 'super oem' turntables (the only viable comparison to technics in my humble opinion) based on the original hanpin DJ 5500. I noticed all of them (except from two, more on this shortly) use a phone/line swicthable output at the back. Now for me this is just a gimmick, even though some might find a good use for it, but it actually gets theoretically worse than just been a gimmic;. Problem with this is the following: A phono only output turntable has a "pure" (using generic terminology to not get into detailed electronics rants) signal path from needle to output. All these turntables that have switchable phono/line, incorporate the use of a pcb board based preamp, which whether it is of good quality or not is irrelavant, as what actually matters is that even when the phono output is selected, the signal goes through the pcb board which introduces various capacitors in the signal chain that increase the resistance load for the audio signal resulting in a loss of treble output (this is the generic version). Now call me an audiophile snob or whatever, but this actually bothers me.