Cross DJ novice...

Talk about gear, music, shows or anything you'd like.
Forum rules
Click here to join Mixvibes on DISCORD https://discord.gg/gMdQJ2cJqa

Cross DJ novice...

Postby dR3+tS on 15 Apr 2014, 07:50

Hi.

Im new to all this....just purchased licence/software version only of Cross DJ from mac Apple app store and realise i need an audio interface.
I see there are 2 types available....including one make(UM46MK2) from a merchant for mixvibes in australia which is where i am and unfortunately i can't see it is for single sale as it comes bundled with a pack and i already have Cross DJ software installed on my macbook pro...so i need an audio interface.
I see the UM46MK2 audio interface is for a 4 channel mixer and you can add Cross DJ sampler to it also and is that one comparable with Mac OS X?
Or is the other audio interface only suited/compatable to mac OS X?
I can't see that model for sale anywhere in australia....in the mix vibes merchant/re-seller catalogue either......and is this USB audio interface as easy to connect RCA leads from and to my Amplifier with speaker so i can cue in mix in track in left ear and hear playing track in speaker connected to amp in right ear?
Is it as easy as that?
I would appreciate some feedback/answers to these questions as i want to get started on this ASAP!

Regards.

Jonathon.
dR3+tS

Re: Cross DJ novice...

Postby RoJeC on 15 Apr 2014, 10:30

dR3+tS wrote:Hi.

Im new to all this....just purchased licence/software version only of Cross DJ from mac Apple app store and realise i need an audio interface.

First of all welcome to MixVibes
You might want a soundcard for better preformance; however usually any PC/MAc has soundcard (headphone). This works for starters.
(you need other soundcards for number of channels, input and output, low latency; depending on your usage.)